Knight WIP

Thumbnail edit,

Hi! I want to share my new project I’m working on. Normally I don’t like to post WIP but I really need some feedback so I decided to post it anyway.

I’m planning to make a Dark Souls fanart, I was going to make an armor set from the games but then I thought it would be more fun to go with an original design. I’m thinking of some sort of diorama, with a bonfire and maybe castle ruins around it, but I have a bad habit of over-complicating things, so I’m gonna focus on getting the character done first.

I’m not really experienced with designing, usually I go with already existing concepts so I struggled a lot with this and I really appreciate if you could provide feedback on the design. I want the armor to look practical rather than looking fancy so if you see a part that doesn’t make sense or look practical please let me know.

Some parts are just placeholders, but I’m mostly done with metal parts and now working on leather parts. I modelled everything in blender but I’m at 40 million polygons and I don’t think blender can handle more than that so I had to switch to zbrush for detailing.

Can’t wait to hear what you think!

21 Likes

I like it bro,what i think regarding armors? Al lcompatible and practical,but in not expert in theme armors,but looks great.

1 Like

Thanks a lot man!

Making some progress,

I think it’s coming along pretty well but I still have a long way to go. Next, I will work on smaller pieces like belt buckles.

5 Likes

Another update. I finished most of the modelling, baked the maps and finally back to blender. This is the first time I used zbrush in my workflow this much so it was a lot of trial and error, but I’m mostly happy with the results so far. I added a sword, originally I was planning to make Dragonslayer from Berserk but I figured it wouldn’t fit the character so I made a simple long sword, I might also add a shield, I think it would look good but I still haven’t decided.