krap

I needed a break from the animation and decided to practice some modelling for a change. I am a total noob, so right now I can only do really simple stuff. But there is no rule that prevents me from showing off my first steps, right? :smiley:

Attachments

Hey, what are you talking about mate, your not bad at all. Look at that robot u made, and these fish thigs are cool too. My only critique is thesecond render, the fog or whatever is too foggy.

I think you are ready for more complex things, all you need to do is try.
Gd Luck!

Thanks for the nice words and the encouragement, DDD.

I come from a programming background and know that it needs a lot of time and practice to gather these kind of creative skills. But when I look at all the great stuff the people here do, I sometimes forget that and wish I would be able to do those things myself (Right now, dammit! :D)

I agree that the second image isn’t so nice. Just tried to do some underwater-ish lightning, but I guess that’s something else I have to learn yet.

for underwater lighting try using a light with a cloud or musgrave texture applied to it to give that shimmering effect of the meshs. Love the models, sometimes simple is just a good as detailed!!

Thanks for the tip, Khnum. I didn’t know that you could texture lights. I applied that technique with a wood texture to the rendering of my second model:

Attachments

I think you are quite ready for something more challenging. Your models look very well made.

Thanks, Animaticoide. I will try my best :slight_smile:

I have to agree, it looks to me like you are definitely ready to challenge yourself, but I also agree that good art doesn’t have to be complex art. Some of my favourite images are quite simple and your creations are already good as they are. I love the style you are developing as well, very creative and super kawaii! :yes: