Lacanche Cooking Range reconstructed from STEP file

Hello there,

I am new to Blender, switching from SketchUp. I draw things and then build them :slight_smile: Mostly furniture.

For my next big project I started to draw the kitchen of our new house, and found a STEP model of the range we want to use. To get it into Blender, I imported it into FreeCAD and then exported it. It worked, but for some reason I only get one huge object (Blender actually crashes when trying to edit it). Since this range comes in a bunch of colors and even different hardware finishes, I decided to “deconstruct” the file… I exported every object from FreeCAD individually, and put it back together in Blender, which was an exercise in moving, rotating, aligning, mirroring etc.

Surely someone is going to tell me I could have used something else to properly import the file with all objects separated… but it was a good exercise nevertheless :slight_smile:

I am posting it here now for you to check out, and possibly get some pointers if I am doing something terribly wrong.
Once “approved”, I would like to upload it to somewhere for others to use. I am not sure where files like these are shared (Blender warehouse?).

'hoping for some constructive criticism :laughing:

Here is the Blender file: http://paris.drtebi.com/blender/Lacanche-Cluny-1000.zip

you got blendswap site

by the way what is this file
was unable to open it ?

is it a blender file or obj ?

on note here ?

this is a relatively easy model to do in blender
just find good photos and model it
no need for obj file import !

happy bl

sorry just saw the new blend file in my folder!

this is 79 MB in size for a range so big - huge for a range!

way too big and too many verts look at the bevel super high res
this is not needed in blender

you can redo it with a file lie max 5 MB and still get a nice render

if you compress the file it goes down to 38 MB!

happy bl

Hi and thanks for your comments.