Landing Gear Rigging Help!!!!

Hiya guys,

I’ve been trying to rig this part of a landing gear (see photo), but I’m having major issues…first and foremost I’m a total newbie in the rigging department so of course it has turned into two weeks of watching rigging tuts and to be honest it’s all turned into a great jumble in my head.

All I’m interested is if any of you guys would point me in the right direction into rigging it with the least of hassle and troubles…mind you I’ve tried using empties and constraints with various levels of hit and miss, used armature with IK and constraints more misses than hits and now it’s all a confusing blob of information and terms.

I hope it makes sense of what I am after, the part that is really playing havoc with all is the pink/magenta as it pivots in two points. Using empies and constraints I’ve managed to make the blue part rotate and bring the orange one with it, also the green part I’ve made it rotate with an empty and rotation constraint, but the pink one GRRRRRR :spin:…thanks in advance for any pointers

Have you seen Blender Cookie’s new course on rigging a jet? The free introduction lesson explains using empties, parenting and constraints, however the landing gear rigging lesson is only available to paid members (if you like the introduction, you might consider joining)

@spaced, yes I’ve seen it and that’s how I managed to kind of rig it…sadly I don’t have the means @ the moment to become a BC citizen :frowning: so only youTube, Vimeo or other means of video tuts for me.
One thing that really pi***es me off is that 95% of rigging tuts available are for human/humanoids meshes but very few are for mechanical stuff and are very limited in the uses, besides I understand that there are many ways of rigging stuff, but all that it has done is confuse me in choosing one that I understand the workings and logic behind it…Thanks for the advice!
I’ll keep on with the trial and error

Cracked it!!!