Large mesh does not move along with the rig (Rigify)

Hello

I am relatively new to Blender and want to use it to change the pose of a 3D scan of a person.
The Mesh of the 3D scan is detailed (2Million faces >200MB file) and I wonder if this is causing a problem.

I installed Blender and riggify and followed some tutorials like “Rigging in Minutes with Blender’s Rigify Addon” on pluralsight or “How to use Rigify rigging tool in Blender 2.80” on YouTube
I followed the steps in the first tutorial with the warrior_character and was able t pose that mesh without issues. Doing the same with my 3D Scan does not work.

As far as I understand the basic steps are:
-load your mesh
-add a human metarig
-move all the bones to match the arms fingers and so on
-create a rig with the “Generate Rig” button (and hide the metarig since it is no longer used)
-select the mesh first, than shift+ select the rig, then press ctrl+ p for the “set parent to” menu and select “with automatic weights”
-in pose mode I can change the pose of the rig but the mesh does nothing (even if I wait patiently).

the last step takes a while (~25minutes) but eventually finishes without any error messages. I am not 100% sure if the parenting step worked, is there a way to check this?

Here is a link to my file with the metarig before i create the actual rig.

Yes, the fact that it is 2 million verts is the problem.

Autoweights break down at certain vert densities. If you check your debug window, you’ll probably see that autoweights failed.

Nobody much cares because performance for animating a 2M vert model is out the window bad anyways. Nobody wants to pose a 2M vert model. You can see that-- even if weights did take, it would take that long to update the mesh.

Plus, as a 3D scan, the edge flow is probably shit. Even if you did rig and pose it, it would look bad.

Retopo the scan.

Didn’t look at the file.

I would not mind if changing the pose takes forever, since my plan was to alter the pose just once.