Large 'tanker' spaceship for MMORPG

Hi,
I attempted blender a year ago or so but got nowhere and eventually lost interest. Two weeks ago or so i decided to really put my mind to it becasue a friend of mine is making a space style mmorpg (called ‘Eden’) and im am really interested and can get involved through graphics design.

This is a ship i have been working on for a couple of days so far and is really the first ‘proper’ model i have produced. I sya ‘propper’ becasue its not the first .blend i’ve ever started but one i’ve put abit of care in and intend to finsish.
The back has thrusters but im touching up on a viewing deck ‘type thing’ at the moment so will update with back view asap. And when it comes to texturing etc. I will have to take a few more tutorials i guess.

So CC’s would be appretiated, with the understanding i’m a bit of a noob.

Link is here
(let me know if you have problems viewing)

I’d advise you to check out the video found on this link, if you are interesting in the game being made. We’ll have an official website within a few weeks.

Cheers for taking a look,
LouisB

Awesome start! I have been doing ships for a while now and I can say you have a very nice one coming along here.

I see you have some small details in there. I would recommend not working on these until you finish the larger shapes (I don’t know if you are done with that or not) This method usually is faster and yields better results. I usually work like this:

• Large basic shapes
  • Pocket and docking ports
  • Large panels
  • Windows
  • Small panels
  • fine detail (greeble, nurnies)

For texturing I would recommend either making material groups from different mesh faces, or UV mapping the “Large simple shapes” from above (and doing separate maps/materials for the smaller stuff).

If it’s for a game you probably want to keep the poly count down and add detail using UV maps.

Well… that’s my two cents (…or three).

Kevin