[Last question] obj.pid, obj.ForceLimitX, obj.reference : can we have it?

Is it possible?

If I use

own.setLinearVelocity([0.0,speed,0.0], 1)

my object’s speed changes suddenly from 0 to “speed”.

I would like to do something like this (not working with objects) :

<i>obj</i>.forceLimitY = [ForceLimitYMin, ForceLimitYMax, True] 
<i>obj</i>.forceLimitZ = [ForceLimitZMin, ForceLimitZMax, True]

And use servo motion advantages (acceleration control).
(linVelocityMax doesn’t seem to be related)

Does anybody know anything about it?
Thank you.

The motion methods of KX_GameObject are just the ones labeled as “simple” in the motion actuator.

Hi Moguri,
that’s what I could understand by reading the documentation.
I’m not a programmer but if I understand well, logick bricks are just pack of instructions that are translated when the game engine is started.

We can create servo motion logic bricks (actuator) and even change the settings (LimitYMax, etc…) with Python.
Is that really impossible to access to servo motion directly or to have an overview of the “translated code” for servo motions to recreate it (that would be a waste of time, though) without actuator?

Well… servo is just advanced control of force movement. You start with a min force and increase it until you get to your desired velocity, then you stick with a force that results in no acceleration but just maintains the velocity of the object.

Simple forces should be easy to do with pure Python:

import GameLogic as g

cont = g.getCurrentController()
own = cont.owner

#A keyboard sensor called "keyup" must be attached
key = cont.sensors['keyUp']

#I just do X force here... other can easily be added
forceX = 0

if key.positive:
    #this is equivalent to setting the force to 10
    forceX = 10

#force = mass * acceleration, so acceleration is force / mass.  
#We divide by 60 because there are 60 logic tics a second (by default).  
accelX = forceX / own.mass / 60