Learning a Simple Command

I’m a progressing newbie. I got Blender about a week ago, and I’ve learned a lot since. There are some of the easiest things I don’t know how to do yet, though. One of them is applying a feature to an object, or whatever you’re trying to apply it to, such the world and stuff. I’ve done it before with adding color to a simple flying saucer for practice, but now . . . :-? . I know it has something to do with rendering it. I DON’T MEAN making the features show up in the rendering window, but applying them to the object in the 3D window. :smiley: Thanks!

Hi,

If I understand correctly…

for different shading views in the 3d windows, use the Z key to toggle between wireframe and shaded. CTRL+Z will give shaded with highlights from current lighting setup. ALT+Z will show UV mapped images on a mesh.

But if this is not what you mean then…

Select an object in the 3d window by using the right mouse button when the mouse is over the object you want to select. Then click the material button and the click add new. This wil assign the new material to the object.

Selecting an object in this way, then makes all the different windows (mesh/material/texture/etc) relate to that object. Select another object and the windows will represent data for that object.

And if that wasn’t what you meant either…

I can’t help you with out some more info. :smiley:

Hope this helps,

Sonix.

Thanks, Sonix. It works! :stuck_out_tongue:

My next question is, how do you do the same to World?
For instance, if I was to make a simple blue background, how would I get it to show up on the 3D window?

Thanks again.

the world material only appears during the render AFAIK.

If you just want a blue background, you can set the background color of the 3d view in the user/preferences window.