Learning the ropes

Hey All, newbie Blender user here! I haven’t used blender before, but I finally decided to learn this wonderful tool. As i’m really taking baby steps here comments and crits are really welcome! please be brutal, i wont mind.

I have some background in 3d, but quite frankly I’m feeling a bit lost using Blender, but that’s where this thread is for, learning the ropes as they say :slight_smile: I have been noodling with Blender for a few evenings reading the tutorials and banging my head against the wall, the UI seemed a bit frightening at the very beginning, but by using it and familiriazing myself with it it seems a bit less intimidating now. (btw. I’ve been reading the "from Noob to pro wiki, is that a good place to start?)

For my very first project I decided to do a basic human head, and maybe use it as a basemesh for future projects, I modeled a simple quad base(took about 2 hours, heh) and started to sculpt it. To my surprise my computer choked on multires lvl 7 I kinda hoped that i could get to level 8 or further and i found out i couldn’t quite sculpt the detail i wanted (most apparent on the eyes and especially the ears, ugh) i should have added the geometry to the base, but oh well, next time :slight_smile:

Does the smooth-brush add polygons to the meshor does it align the normals more smoothly? Or do you have some suggestions on how i could add some polys to the areas that need it without starting from scratch?

Below is a screengrab from blender (couldn’t quite grasp the camera&rendering yet), quite wip still, eyes and ears need much more work

Below is a quick concept for my next procject, that i’m planning to start after i’ve finished my Head sculpt, a monster face…

Edit: tried a render with a basic skyligth

The best way i’ve found is to flesh out the basic forms and then do a retopo of the mesh to get the polys where you need them.