Less boring approach to hard-surface modelling?

Lately, i’ve been diving into hard-surface modelling, specially from concept/photo references. Most of the tutorials on websites like 3DMotive and DigitalTutors guide you to setup the 3D view with the concept planes and just connect dots. I find it very very boring and cumbersome. I can stay like… 3 to 4 hours just blocking something, then adding detail, then having to do the low-poly all over again, just to bake and start actually going somewhere.

Is there an alternative workflow to this kind of modelling?

Hello,
In my opinion, there are not good Blender tutorials on Digitaltutors. Look at the Maya and 3dMax modeling tutorials. You can apply same procedures in Blender. Anyway modeling hard surfaces is booring.
Actually I’m a beginner to Blender. Normally it would take approximately 70 hours to model a accurate high poly car exterior for me. I have never tried nurbs modeling. you could try that https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p1xDvnVovd4

Best Regards,
Srinath

Is that agaisnt the rules? Also, you post is off-topic.

No but you’re asking questions that have been answered thousands of times.

Just impressed, that’s all. Apologies for the off-topic-ness.

Hey DCBloodHound, that was your 1,000th post! Happy 1,000th post! (Sorry again for the off-topic-ness. Over and out.)

Thanks lol,not that it’s much of an achievement :stuck_out_tongue:

One of the primary principles to modeling (and one that I often see newer modelers ignore–to their misfortune), is the importance of always staying as low poly as you can get away with. By keeping your base mesh as simple as possible, you retain the most amount of control over your model.