Let me see if I have this right...

OK, so say I had a game plot and was semi-competent in character modelling. If I could make a short prototype of my game (you know, main menu, and a couple minutes of gameplay) would I go to the big game companies (my hope is Square Enix, since they are like the KINGS of RPG’s/Adventure games) and show them what I have…but yeah what would i do from there?

Go to the end of the queue of all the other bedroom developers who think they have an absolutely original idea that nobody has ever thought of for the next big game that’s going to make them millions.

Haha that’s harsh dont you think? Anyway i’m not a bedroom developer I’m an Office developer :slight_smile:

And i’m not hoping to make any money but just get my name out there. At my age i don’t need money what would i do with it i can’t even drive…

IMO, the best way to do that is would be to start making games of your own, or join a modding communty for a game you own.
Sending a game idea to Square probably won’t get your name out there, unless you have an amazing idea that is executed amazingly well.

Oh, and you should prepare yourself for some harsh responses to this thread…

There are 100’s of 1000’s of people from half the countries in the world who want exactly what you want. About 30% of them have been working in the gaming industry 5 yrs + and been modeling, animating, storyboarding, coding for 10 yrs + on just about every program available and on just about every platform out there. That’s your competition.

%<

@Fligh: I’m well aware of that. I have about five years to be patient and wait until I become worried about it ever taking off. I’m sure that you mean that to help me, not hurt me (actually I’m not so sure…)