Lifting an object

Ok, so I’m making this little exercise in which a guy lifts a heavy object and then drops it. It’s all coming together except the actual lifting part lol ;). How can i animate the object moving with his hands without sliding around? I tried to use some copy location constraints, but i just can’t make them work :S. Any advice?
Thx in advance.

I’ve been playing in Maya recently (I have to - I’m studying Animation and Maya is what we’re bing taught on. Nice program) and lifting stuff it pretty much what’s expected that everyone can do. So, from Maya perspective…

1. Get character to grip the object
  2. Keyframe a hand “lock”, where hands actually get parented onto the object.
  3. From then on, move the object and hands should stay in place (IK). until unlocked. You probably still need to keyframe both the box and the hands each move… the parenting helps with your positioning.

Okay - that’s the way Maya does it. Haven’t tried (yet) in blender but imagine it’s much of the same (unless blender can’t do the parent hands stuff, in which case I’d be worried… let me know).

In terms of lifting an object, the hands should remain at one place in one action before moving to another place for another action. Think of how a mime has a hand or part of his/her body ‘held’ in one spot to simulate something like a wall or climbing a ladder.

So once the hands are in that place where you want to lift it, the copy location, which is deactivated, should be activated. I assume you have a disconnected but parented bone placed above the palm in which to do this. Whilst the hands are in that place, copy location should still be active in the IPO until you might want to move the hands to a different spot or place the object on the ground.

Maybe having a bone inside the object may help move it around too, there are a couple of way of doing it but the copy loaction one is best and similar to how Lancer described it!