Lighting in Cycles Rendering Engine "poor" compared to Blender Render engine

I am a total newbie to Blender. I was swimming through the vast amount of Blender tutorials online and people were of the opinion that the new Cycles Render engine is much better than the old Blender Render engine.

I rendered the same scene (which had 2 lamps ) as two images, one with Cyclesand the other with Blender-Render. As you can see the one rendered with Blender-Render is significantly more realistic than the one rendered with Cycles ( 100 samples ). Especially the lighting. The 2 lamps are reflecting on the objects in the Blender-Render and the shadows are also significant. With the same lamps, there are neither noticeable shadows nor lamp reflections on the objects with Cycles.

Am I missing something?

Am I missing something?
Everyone else is, your blend file so they can see your scene setup.

The results you get are all dependant on the materials and lighting. Since the materials and lighting aren’t compatible between each render engine it depends what your setup looks like, which nobody but you knows.

You have to use BI materials and lighting methods for BI, Cycles materials and lighting methods for Cycles. You can’t just switch rendering method, tweak samples numbers, and expect an equivalent result.
You need to swim more among the tutorials, and especially work more on your setups, before drawing any conclusions.

Bear in mind that Cycles has not been optimised for newb usage yet. While getting familiar with Blender in general, you might be better off saving Cycles for later. But it depends on what you want to achieve with the software.

@Richard Marklew
Sorry, I hadn’t saved the .blend file that I used to create the above 2 images. But I tried my best and re-created the scenario and I am attaching the .blend file with this post.

@encn