Lighting

Hi!
I have searched the forum, but it would take a long time to search in about 5000 results :wink:
So I think, asking would be faster.

It’s obvious, that for big scenes (and espacially animations) the lighting technique ambient occlusion isn’t really fast. As well GI (in YafRay or fake GI with the internal renderer) is too slow.

Now, my question is, how I could reach a good and fast lighting without faking GI or by working with a lot of negative lights

(btw. sorry for my bad english :confused: )

bump

i would be interested, too
anybody know a solution?

I’m by no means an expert on this, but at least as far as the environment for the animation goes, I’d experiment with pre-calculated radiosity and a buffered spot or two. Assuming the semi-realistic GI type of soft lighting is what you are after.

The dupliverted spotlight technique used to fake global illumination isn’t necessarily that slow either, if you lower the shadow quality enough. In an animation the drop in individual frame quality might not be noticeable.

Here’s a very quickly made 20 second example (XVID) using radiosity, a buffered spot and one normal lamp:
http://personal.inet.fi/koti/jate/videos/room_20_seconds_xvid.avi

After spending some tens of minutes calculating the radiosity solution, each frame took an average of 25 seconds to render on an old 1.2G Athlon. The lighting is far away from perfect, but it is only an example.

(Sorry about the large size, I packed it too loosely by accident.)

• L

Yes, really nice video and I love the results of radiosity (when did you made the calculation? Before or after texturing?)

The problem of radiosity and animations is, that you can’t really move your objects, you can just move the camera because light isn’t recalculated for each move