Limiting rotation-angle

Ok, I’m rather new with blender and this might be a newbies miss, but is there a way to in blender or using a simple python-script to limit the rotation-angle of an object? I’m creating a tank game where you control both the canon and the machine-gun and clearly those can not be allowed to be inside the tank, this would also be useful for other games like fps’s and such, to make the player not turn upside down if you move too far down or up.

I’d be grateful if someone of you guys out ther could help me with this.

http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Manual/Constraints/Limit_Rotation

I didn’t think those worked in the GE, but I don’t really know what I’m talking about. For a tank gun, I would just rotate it using an ipo.

I’ll try and see if it works.

Thanks for the answers!

Ok, i think you were right withh that it didn’t work unless i made some mistake somewere.

Also i read that if you rotate outside the limit it you have to rotate the same amount as you rotated out to be able to rotate again.

Ok, I also got another matter, making the tracks, you can’t have a tank without tracks, right. But the trouble is to make tracks that follow the ground and not when you press a button.

Do a search in the forum for a “uv scrolling script” that should take care of your track

Don’t that only scroll the texture? Isn’t it better making a chain like motion or something like that… I’m not sure how to use soft body or such, but don’t that work? :confused:

I have the same problem in a sci fi racing game. I want my vehicle to rotate over its length axis for about 30-60°. Making this rotation part of the in game control is not fun, since it does not really controls the movement itsself, it just to make it look a bit more real.

I might have to try to make a python script for this, but since I am no good at python, and only have analyzed or edited python script, it may take some time, but if anybody wants to help, I really appreciate it.