Linux ?!?

Hi

Sorry for posting yet another topic about linux. :expressionless:

I’m currently using windowsXP and now I’m thinking about to take the step to linux but… I have never worked with linux, well, I tested a bootable CD of Adios but that was a long time since then.

What I’m wondering about is:

What distribution should I use? Which is the choice for a total newbie? (who maybe thinking too much windows %| ) Suse? RedHat?
Is it only Suse who got a 64bit version?

What should I think of? Should I split the hdd into partions? Drivers? (and stuff like that)

Can I run windows applications on linux? Like photoshop.

Lastly - Is there any good step by step tutorials on ‘how to’, or video tutorials?

I hope I’m not bothering you too much.
t3d

If you want to go to Linux!! then be prepared to give up you windows software (yea yea I know ,Wine, wine) no matter what you try you will not be able to run photoshop in any usable way on any lienux.
If you are running long john silverware versions of programs there you won’t loose out giving up Windows.

If you own a legal copy of windows, and all the other programs are legal, then there is a lot too give! there are not programs too equal all windows software for lienux, there is some good stuff Blender :smiley: Gimp, making music is still painfull at best.

I suppose you should try a multi boot system first off, try a number of lienux versions, and see which one works best for you.

Lienux can be engrossing (and painfull) to play with, but if you like a challenge and don’t mind reading lots of long winded howto’s, that are quite cleverly written in an other language that looks like English but isn’t, then give it a go.

Ken

I don’t like lienux, could you guess :smiley: :wink:

Well as I’ve recently tried the transition to linux myself I’m in agreement with most of what’s already been said.

Linux is tricky to “get into”

I can tell you what I’ve encountered so far if it will help.