loner

this quick 10 minute project was inspired by a render i saw a year ago. i cant remember where i saw it or even if it was made with blender so i cannot give credit to the creator of the idea of partially illuminated balls. but i’m sure it’s fine because IIRC the only thing they have in common are the illumination on spheres…so otherwise completely different scenes.

oh yea and this is my first time using the defocus node on an actual project

so how can i make it better?

edit:
i was told that the spheres didn’t look like spheres because it was too dark so i made things a little brighter

which do you guys prefer?

I like the concept of lighted balls. The top image looks best to me lightness-wise. The bottom one looks a tad washed out. However, I think the composition would look more dramatic if the yellow ball was in the foreground and the green ones where in the background. Since its the focus point, it ought to occupy more space in the picture.
-just my 2 cents

ah that never crossed my mind!

well, while you were making a brilliant comment, i was making another scene with a gillion more marbles thinking it would fix my problem

but i’ll definitely go on to making a fourth version. thnx

eh ?

looks much better! I might put a few green balls closer to the yellow, but it depends how isolated you want the yellow ball to be. BTW, what renderer are you using?

Since you don’t have much to work with in terms of objects in the picture… I’d say your choice of composition will defiine the success of this image. So make sure you put thought into that.

I totally agree :slight_smile: Although I would make this more of a wide-screen size image (or ratio thingy 1280x720 or wtv you want) so that you can align more of the “crowd balls” in the image making the center one seem even more left out. Just a thought.

yafray with GI quality low or medium…depending on my mood:) when i feel it’s finished, i will render a final pic with all settings as high as possible.