Looking for a good alternative to the Blender internal render engine

I’m fairly new to blender, but in the few renders I’ve done I noticed that the internal render engine does a horrible job of lighting. There end up being five layers of light, and there is a clearly defined line between them that kills the entire render. What’s the best external render engine that doesn’t render forever? I mostly do animations, so I can’t let every frame render for two days. If there’s a way to fix this without switching renderers that would be great to know as well.

Horrible job of lighting eh?? You’r obviously not very good at it :wink:
Try out cycles

I’ve tried cycles, but it’s really buggy and doesn’t work with materials and textures yet. The lighting isn’t that it’s unevenly lit or the shadows are wrong or anything, it’s that you can see the changes between light levels. If I was doing a tiny render, that would be fine. However, I do my renders at 1920x1080. The lighting engine sucks.

V-ray
Yafaray
Luxrender
Octane
Mistuba
Indigo
Aqsis
Do a forum search for external renders as the pros/cons of each have all been discussed before.
Just try them yourself and see which best meets your needs.

Thanks! I’m hoping to find one that will be able to render my scenes with little to no changes to the lighting and materials. Hopefully one of these will provide what I’m looking for.

Good luck on that. :smiley:
vray, octane, lux and thea offer biased and direct lighting kernels and are nice for animations - you got to pay for all but lux.
vray ~400 Euro
thea ~400 euro
octane ~90 euro but a pain to render animations because it has to voxelize the scene for each frame.

I second greg though, I think you’re just not too good setting up lights for BI.

If you think the problem is my lack of experience, can you link me to a tutorial?

I think you got a bit crappy attitude in some replies here.