Looking for fantasy illustration advice/recommendations

Hi everyone. New to Blender and 3D graphics, though I do have a background in visual art and film. Am interested in learning to create photo-realistic illustrations for graphic novels and storyboards. Blender has so many unexpected procedural and un-intuitive features, am posting to see if anyone has any thoughts on where else this could be taken. Right now it’s about as simple a setup as possible - I modeled/sculpted a mesh from photos of a friend (the hard part, for me at least), placed some transparent spheres for bubbles, pointed a couple of lights through volume scattered cube and imported a background image as a plane. Am pretty happy with how the model turned out, but would love to hear ideas for how to improve the environment. Also, suggestions for fantasy artists that use Blender would be greatly appreciated.

1 Like

That’s a really cool concept! I’m an illustrator who started using blender. If your goal is photo-realism, then that is a higher learning curve and a high bar! Not because it’s impossible, but I find that I spend 70% of the work on just the last home stretch of a work to get it to get out of “i can tell that was made in blender”-land and into “whoa that’s not a photograph”

For your image, there is a few things that give it away as being a 3D render and not photo realism.