Looking for Tutorials on DirectX's .X File Format

I’ve been learning Blender for some time, and I’m just beginning to learn DirectX game programming. I’m wondering if anyone knows any tutorials that would teach me how to on loading .x file format models from Blender into DirectX 10. I’ve seen information on how to do it with DirectX 9, but not DirectX 10. I’m hoping the .x file format has been deprecated from DirectX 10. :o

I just found out the .x file extension has been deprecated from DirectX 10. Now I’ll have to figure out what to do.

Moved from “General Forums > Blender and CG Discussions” to “Support > Technical Support”

http://www.scapecode.com/2009/11/slimdx-direct3d10-x-loader/

Or you use .obj or whatever and the Open Asset Import Library:
http://assimp.sourceforge.net/

That helps arexma. The only thing I don’t like is that it doesn’t export the materials along with the mesh. I’m going to need to figure out how to import the materials into DirectX. Of course, I’ve just started to learn, so there’s much I don’t know yet. :wink:

I decided to give up on the DirectX thing. I’m still planning to look into Ogre3D. I’ve just learnt about XNA Game Studio, which needs Visual C# in order to program games. It’s console specific though - only can be used on Windows PCs, XBox360, and Windows Phone. As to whether Blender models can be exported to XNA, I haven’t found out yet. And I’m just beginning to read up on how to program in C#. Programming has been a hobby for my in the past, and I’d like to take it up again. I’ll have to learn C#, since I never programmed in that environment. Now I’ll have Blender, XNA, and C# to learn - all as hobbies right now. I guess 3D modeling has been something I wanted to do for a long time, as well as game programming. As for XNA, the only game I know of right now that was made with XNA was the game Terraria - which can be bought and played through Steam.

I regularily use Ogre3D.