Looking to add a white logo to my ball, which doesn't have the hair applied to it

Hi fellow blender users!

I’m still very new to blender, and for the death of me cant figure out how is best to resolve this issue I’m running into, maybe someone can provide a step by step way to achieve this? im still a noob! :frowning:

I’ve added a hair particle property to the majority of the tennis ball, apart from certain white areas which are slightly engraved to show the ‘stitched area’. What Im trying to do is add a white logo (the turtle illustration) to my tennis ball and I want this logo to look similar to the white ‘stitched area’ of the tennis ball, so that this logo doesn’t have hair coming out from it and is instead ‘bald’.

At the moment I have added a shrink wrap modifier to the logo layer, and this is basically just projecting the logo on top of the tennis ball, which means the hair particle properties are still coming up and out through the logo, which isnt the effect I want. I have a rough idea that maybe I can apply a vertex group to the density/length of the hair in the particles settings, which Is how I got the bald ‘stitched area’ bit, however cant seem to figure out how to get this to also work for the logo area :frowning:

Hopefully this makes sense :slight_smile:

Link to the blender file is here if its needed to further look into: https://we.tl/t-hOARXgI3yf :)))

And thanks in advance to any legend who knows what to do here!

Welcome to the BA forums Steven.

Adding the logo area to group2 will make it also be bald. Or in your case remove it from group2. There are a few vertices along the topology seam at the top of the ball that are easiest to get at from the inside.
I often prefer to do the vertex group editing in edit mode rather than Weight Paint mode. Either way you are working on the same vertex group.
Change to the Lasso Tool by holding down the LMB and releasing it once the cursor is over the wanted icon…
Loop Select