Low poly Batou (GITS)

Hey all!

I am new to low-poly modeling and texturing and really need some good advise on how to improve my skills. It has 1408 polys right now and my goal is to stay under the 5000 limit.

My initial goal was Batou in Ghost in the shell but I am far far away from that since I am a lousy face painter. Hence I need all tips and trix texture painting in photoshop, especially skin textures.

My modeling skills also needs somewhat of an improvement. But my general idea is to make the silouette clean and concentrate on face and hands to make it look smoother. I can tell you I have been dependent on subsurf modeling and now I realise that it was really a bad choice and delayed my progress in modeling alot.

Thanks.

Edit: know with the latest render update here.

Attachments

The feel’s a bit cartoonish, but I gather that’s what you’ve been striving for. The eyes seem a tad too big. Other than that, the proportions appear to be okay. Overall, I like it - but if not for eyes I’d like it even more.

Actually he is supposed to be a cyborg with cyborg-eyes, I found a nice tutorial for face-painting in this forum. http://www.cgchat.com/forum/showthread.php?t=25727 I will probably re-texture all skinparts with this technuique.

An update on the face and some other tweaks… I still have alot to do on hands and feets and ofcourse the face texture itself. I found this great photoshop plugin for making normal maps out of textures. http://developer.nvidia.com/object/photoshop_dds_plugins.html

Go blender!

Attachments

A new render with more detailed work on textures. What do ya think so far? I am goin to add more detail but it takes time since I am not used to it.

Oh, and does anyone happen to have a few trix about how to model low poly ears?

Attachments

i hadn’t read your first post but first thing i thought of was ghost in the shell character from your last picture (only seen two or so episodes) so I’d say its definitly coming along