Low Poly Horse Model - Help Appreciated!

Hello everyone, Im new to 3D modeling and Blender alike and have just started out experimenting with it recently. I have a couple of questions:

1: This fine horsie here is made to be inserted in a MMORGP, and I have read that with “big” monsters like these its ok if you stick to under 2000 polys. I ended up with under 500, so Im starting to wonder, is there something else I have to take into account when modeling creatures for animation, or is it really this simple? 2000 polys seem rather much to me - I really have no clue where I would put in that many, unless there is something fundamentaly wrong with the model I have done!

http://www.dragonsnail.com/out-online.com/images/horsefront.jpg

2: When I want to unwrap the UV mapping, although the seams go neatly through to cut the horse in two exactly equal halves, and I have the legs, head, tail etc etc also cut out, the maps I get are totally distorted and unequally big. For instance, half of the horses body was about as big as the Image Editor square, while the other half was small enough I could only see jumble of tiny dots, which was all the vertices… is it really supposed to be this way? Do I have to move all the vertices one by one in the Image Editor until the two halves are the same size? Or do I have some setting on that I shouldnt?

Thanks in advance for your help! :slight_smile:

The DragonSnail

If you need more Details then you end up with more verts.
Your mesh look good so far, and if you gone make the eyes and other details with Textures then there is nothing wrong with it.

I recomend the video tutorial about uv mapping…
http://www.blender3d.org/cms/Model_Material_Light.397.0.html

Hey DragonSnail,