Low viewport FPS with dual xeons

Hello, my first post. I’ve been using blender since April 2018 I decided to switch from 3ds Max which I have been using for many years.

Anything I attempt to animate other than basic shapes plays in the viewport at 5-10 FPS. For example I can load the “victor rig” (20,323 verts) from blender foundation and simply click ALT A, and it runs at 9 FPS with no keyframes animated).

My set up is a dual xeon total 20 cores @ 3GHz each GTX 1080 and 64GB ram. all drivers up to date. running Windows 10 Pro.

I’ve googled this and have tried all of the suggestions I’m lost but don’t want to have to go back to 3ds max to animate.

I have this issue in both v2.79 and v2.80 beta any help will be greatly appreciated.

In the comments of the Victor rig, Juan Pablo Bouza says he can get it to run at 24FPS on an i7

(yogyog) #2

You can probably get the framerate up if you disable a few things. I’ve not looked at the victor model, but if you select his mesh and go to the “modifiers” tab, they’ll be a load of mods you can turn off to increase framerate such as particles (his hair) and subsurf.

There’s also a panel at the bottom of the Scene buttons called simplify that allows you to turn down subsurf across the board.

There’s also a dropdown on the timeline that by default is set to “no sync” … but either of the other options is way better.