Mac 0s10.3.5 export formats for print

I am primarily a graphic artist and want to use blender objects I eventually create as part of illustrations that will be printed. Among the formats available for export only png and jpeg seem possible, for bringing into photoshop or illustrator and using in a design. Does someone know how I can create objects that are high resolution and can be printed, exported, imported, into photoshop, indesign, illustrator, quark etc?

You can also use targa or bitmap. If you need high resolution images exported from Blender into Photoshop, never, ever use JPEG or any lossy format. PNG, targa and bitmap are lossless formats so you can actually interchange between them and not lose any quality.

I have noticed that Photoshop seems to have a preference for tiffs. mac os x even has a free app called preview that converts between tiff, png, tga, bmp. Photoshop will handle most of the file output from Blender so you won’t likely need to change any formats for that.

Personally I prefer PNG because it gives the lowest file sizes out of all the lossless compressions. My brother is a graphics designer though and he uses tiffs all the time. Like I say, it seems to be the preferred format (possibly second to psd).

I’m sure you know this but when setting the resolution in the render window, make sure you click the 100% button. At first I didn’t realise that it was at 50% by default so didn’t understand why the render was so small.

One other thing about hi res stuff is that you might want to have the unified renderer on. I think this produces less artifacts. Also, Gaussian blur sometimes helps with anti-aliasing and so does the new OSA feature for each material.

I’ve done quite a bit of work in Blender for print, just finished a series of A3 posters the other week, actually.