Mac vs. PC

(DwarvenFury) #1

Hey guys. I’ve been hearing some good things about Macs lately, and I’ve been wondering about getting a Mac when I get a new computer. (I do apply for the Educational Discount, so that’ll save me a bit of $$$.) Do any of you have first hand experience with Macs and know how they compare with PCs especially in terms of how good they are for graphics programs? Is 512 MB going to cut it for Blender and other graphics programs, or do I need 1 GB + on a Mac? What’s a 1.67 GHz G4 processor equivalent to in terms of an Intel or AMD chip? Coming from the Intel/Windows side of things, I’m a real newb as far as knowing what I should get, if/when I get the money. Thanks.:smiley:

DwarvenFury

(z3r0 d) #2

First: performance will be sufficent

Second: like windows lots of ram is a good thing

Third: consider waiting for the intel-based macs to come out [the rumors say the beginning of next year]

We could argue for pages and pages about performace. It’s hard enough to tell the difference between the 2.0Ghz pentium M from the 2.8Ghz athlons from the 3.6Ghz pentium 4 chips, throwing another wildly different chip in the mix just confuses everything.

(Metsys) #3

Mac OS is really nice, and that’s why I would get it, aside from the fact that they are the best looking computer’s I’ve seen (and the new iMacs with the built-in camera and remote are pretty cool).

But you do pay more money for performance on a Mac. For everyday use, a Mac is fine for computing power. But I like to have as much CPU power as possible to render my animations, and in that case having a PC is better for that (since it will likely just be a headless computer, i.e. no monitor).

Get 1GB of RAM, especially if you use Blender. As we all know, RAM sets the bar as far as what your computer can and can’t do when it comes to rendering.