Mac Windows or Linux?

Hi,

Please excuse the ignorance - I am just the money supply when it comes to Blender. My background is I am an electronic engineer, but PCs leave me cold and I don’t understand graphic card specs and the difference between different processors/RAMs/Motherboards and how they relate to Blender.

My 12 year old son has been using Blender for a couple of years, generating pictures and using the game engine, and is expressing interest in following 3D animation for a career. He has struggled with our 10 year old windows XP PC and the time has come to upgrade it. I would like to get a computer that will be future proof when using Blender as this is probably the application with the most exacting requirements.

So the question is should I look to buy a iMac, Windows or Linux computer and what specs should I be looking at? If there is a web page anyone can point me to I am fine with that.

Thanks in advance

I’d suggest Windows.

Sure it has issues, but they all do; windows 7 is a dream in comparrison to anything else MS have prodiced (I hated XP) and stayed with windows 2k until trying vista.

You’ll certainly pay more for the mac, and some argue you get more. And there are posts on these forums of people expressing irritation over linux.

hi,

contrary to what writer’s block said, i would suggest to have a look at a linux operating system: if your son wants to make a career out of doing very specialized tasks on a computer, it is very beneficial to learn about how the computer actually works and that’s a thing linux is particularly good for due to it’s open environment.

as for hardware: there really is no future proof option when buying a computer, as the technology has been evolving rapidly for a longer period of time now and there is no real sign of stalling (in fact there is even a law for this).
the good news is, if you buy a decent computer now, your son will (potentially) be able to do things with it, pixar couldn’t do only a few years ago.