Machinima movies in Blender

Hi folks - I’m pretty new to Blender, and I’ve DL’d it with a view to making Machinima movies - like CGI but rendered in a real-time engine. I’d be interested in any links/tuts/advice on how to do this using Blender. Has anyone out there gone this route, rather than using the standard renderer?

As for specific questions -

What’s the recommended polycount for a character model?

What are the biggest textures you can use?

Does the engine do both skeletal and vertex animation? So if I had an armatured guy walking around, could I also morph the face to have the guy speaking at the same time?

Can I do a standard animated scene, and then just render it in the game engine?

Looking forward to hearing from anybody who’s tried this stuff in Blender!

(I’m on a Pentium 4 @ 2.66 Ghz, 512 megs ram, Radeon 9000 card)

No, the game-engine’s quality of images usually sucks compared to the renderer’s.

What’s the recommended polycount for a character model?

1000 tris

What are the biggest textures you can use?

I would generally reccomend 512x512 max size. Some gfx cards can’t handle sizes above that.

Does the engine do both skeletal and vertex animation? So if I had an armatured guy walking around, could I also morph the face to have the guy speaking at the same time?

Skeletal? Yes. Vertex? No. Unfortunately, the game engine is very limited. :frowning: You would have to use armatures for the face, also.

Can I do a standard animated scene, and then just render it in the game engine?

No, you have to use logicbricks.

(I’m on a Pentium 4 @ 2.66 Ghz, 512 megs ram, Radeon 9000 card)

Radeon eh? Hmm…I’m not sure how well tha works with blender. Some people have experienced extreme slowness problems, or something…

Anyway, I would like to see how this turns out! :smiley:

some cards can’t even handle that

of course, those cards suck (my voodoo 2 is one with that problem)