making 3rd person mech game need help

hey all. i’m pretty new to the whole blender scene so I’ll try not to be as newb-ish. I’m currently working on a 3rd person mech assault type game that will feature 4 different mecha. All the levels are going to be very technological and there will be very few outdoor levels if any (actually i’m thinking about having a desert battle at some point in the game). What I need help with is the mech-modeling. I have successfully created one of the mechs that will be in the game and I am currently looking for a good way to animate it. The mech is made of many different parts i.e. boxes. What I did was I made each ‘piece’ of the mech out of various objects, usually boxes,cylinders, or spheres.

I tried to use bone rigging in order to create the animations for the mech but instead of the mech moving the way i wanted to whenever i selected and moved a bone, it became distorted and warped. I also tried grouping each piece of the mech together as in grouping all the parts of the feet together, then grouping all the parts of the lower legs together, and so on, and then making the feet dynamic and having all the other parts of the mech become children to the feet and essentially 'follow' the feet around. but that didn't work out well either. Every time I tried to run the game and test the feet movement my model became distorted.

I also tried to just group each object together and then just edit each vertex in order to animate the model but that didn't work either because there are a lot of vertices and it would take months to get one animation done.

So now I'm stuck. My methods dont work and I'm behind schedule.(well actually i'm not because i'm the only person that's working on this.) So I need you guys' help. I don't mean to beg or sound stupid if that's how i'm coming across.

I need help in the following areas:
1.effective animation techniques
2.some way to incorporate mouse look
3.a weapons changing system