Making parallel faces invisible

What I need to do is described below! I’m not very good with trignometry, so I don’t know how to apply this within the bge.

Monster:
Do you mean something as described in this video?

I have a demo somewhere. I will post it later.

Thank you Monster, I forgot to mention you on the quote.

@ torakunsama
I have set up such a material! It is not that complicated.
With the ColorRamp you can adjust when the plane starts to fade!

planeFade.blend (495 KB)

Here it is:
Prof. Monster’s Aberation (good for nebulas)

The funny thing is it is inspired by the video above.
I had to find out I’m not a great nebula designer ;).

@ Monster
why do you do it via python? A simple nodematerial will do the job perfectly! :slight_smile:

GLSL only!
I do not have GLSL on all of my laptops even if the GLSL method is more efficient :yes:

ah… ok. that makes sense :slight_smile:

Here is a second glsl version! For “add” planes. The first example was for alpha blending. this one blends to black! Looks kind of cool!

nebula.blend (582 KB)

@ ndee:
OK, thanks, your setup woks to a degree:
It’s very hard to have it work with alpha textures.
The setup only works on positive values for the normal. It means that the face will fade if it’s viewed from negative X, Y or Z.
I got it to work by adding another normal vector multiplied by -1, but I ot pop ups.
But this method is prefered!
@ Monster:
Yes, it works, but I need to play a little more with it to make sure it rally works. I saw some edges once I used GSLS with textures.

Is there any “Converter” that will turn a GLSL into a multitex etc?

You could bake ;).

But really if you can express the effects in multi-texture than you do not need GLSL. SO it would e nice if you create a new material to check how it look without GLSL.