Manual information bears little relation to my version of Blender

I am a total noob to Blender. I have downloaded 2.57.0 for use on a computer running Windows 7.

I am already very frustrated. I have clicked on Help to access the instruction manual and do the first tutorial, making a gingerbread man. It’s clear that the manual illustrations for the tutorial do not at all match the visual appearance of the Blender version I’ve downloaded.

Because I’ve had to guess at what I’m looking for, it has taken me two and a half hours to find various buttons and tools and change views and delete things and select things. This seems pretty nuts to me.

How can this version of Blender have an instruction manual that doesn’t provide accurate illustrations? Is there an alternative manual somewhere online?

Any information/encouragement appreciated.

Edith

http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Doc:2.5/Manual
Plus the dozens of video tutorials that are available for the blender version you have such as:
http://gryllus.net/Blender/3D.html

The manual for 2.5 is incomplete, and in my humble opinion, 2.5x is incomplete. I’m a total newb to Blender too, and decided the best way to learn is with 2.49. That version is mature and stable, documentation is complete and there’s tons of tutorials if you’re into them (I’m not). The price I’ll pay is having to learn the new interface and other changes in 2.5. I’d rather do that than battle with 2.5, wondering if I’ve discovered a bug, a missing feature or whatever. With 2.49, I can always safely assume that if something doesn’t work, it’s probably my fault.

With 2.49, I can always safely assume that if something doesn’t work, it’s probably my fault.
You’ve probably not looked at the current 2.4x bug tracker then. They will of course not be fixed.
If you are just starting to use blender there is no reason why you should not use 2.57. There are tons and tons of resourses available for it and I find it as stable as 2.49.