Manually making a low poly mesh from high

Hi all,

I’m fairly new to blender and I’m looking to make a low poly mesh from a high poly without using the decimate script or anything like that.

Is there a tool to add a vertex to the low poly but have it’s position be based off the high poly’s face?

Thanks for any help.

You could approach this in several ways, just copy the high poly object and in edit mode use un-subdivide option to reduce it’s polycount. Then you’d probably need to manually add or remove edges, faces etc. The second way would be just to build around the existing high poly mesh with the most basic primitives.

I’m gonna be honest here and tell you that since you haven’t provided any information regarding what type of object you’re planing to make low poly version off the members of this site have decided to waste any time on this. When I say information I actually mean: descriptive information of what model are you talking about, how low poly do you want it to be, renders or screenshots of the object and possibly a blend file. I’ve just in the mood to answer your question that is severely painful for a any long time member of this site but seeing that you’re quite new here I decided to answer your question in a way and to even give you some tips regarding the site and it’s members.

Since you intend to create a new object - any primitive would do to start a creation in edit mode - however first you have to have a base for a new object. Add a Plane - it has a least amount of vertices from all default objects.
In edit mode you can select all vertices and Alt-M merge them which leaves you with one vertex per object only. You can start to E extrude this (or just Ctrl mouse click in the desired location; if nothing is selected Ctrl-click would start a separate mesh island inside the same object).