Massive Environment Modeling Issue

I admit, I hate creating massive environments (actually an entire world) because it doesn’t draw correctly in both viewport and render (including BGE mode too). This issue isn’t only occurring in Blender either. It appears in Max and Maya which have the worst support for creating super massive environment. Please forgive me for my arrogance. This is my first time attempting to create massive environments. Am I doing it wrong? Should I break this world I am attempting to create in 3d down into smaller sections?

Please give me tips and suggestions on how to properly model 3d game environments. My modeling skill is pretty good but my approach to environment scale is still experimental to me.

I thought modeling massive environments can be done.

I want to create an environment and be able to test it in BGE, UDK, and Unity but again, it’s a scale approach factor in my environment (err…I mean entire world)…

I was referencing Final Fantasy XII’s desert terrain which was very massive.

Why would you attempt to model an entire world for a game? The face-count would be staggering. It would probably wipe out all of your memory just trying to compile the scene before you could play it. In my experience games that function on a global basis don’t actually store the worlds as a single object. Rather they store scenes or levels which are loaded as you enter that stage.

Where I you, I think I would try to get away from the super huge world models. One way to create a “global” feel to your environment would be to add some code to your game that would auto generate a randomized height map that you could use to create your scene. The idea here is that none of your scenes or locals would be the same as the next, and you would not have to model out every square inch of terrain.