Material and object data in compositor or a possible workaround?

Hello, everyone!

Is it possible to access the material and object data in the compositor?

I am specifically interested in getting specular color and roughness, but there might be some interesting possibilities if there is some basic read-access to all of the data. I do want to note that I am NOT talking about the specular highlights.

I am fairly new to Blender and as such I may have not noticed some functions. However, that being said, I did not find any solutions myself (or obvious to me personally). Even searching in Google resulted in “How to use specular maps” or “How to bake specular maps” (and a bunch of more useless results), the latter of which caught my interest. However, upon more closer examination baking is an extremely tedious solution as it requires several steps to perform. Even after creating a specular map I would have to apply it to the model and do another render using that. Why would I need to render the specular map?

Details: I am working on creating sprites from 3D-models. The initial part of this is very simple, set a camera to rotate the object to render it from multiple angles. This will get me the diffuse colors of the sprite. To get more advanced effects I will also need view-space normals, depth, and specular color / intensity and roughness. The normals can be grabbed from the compositor’s normal-pass, which is in range [-1, 1], so it needs to be converted to [0, 1]. Next up is depth which I can get from the Z-pass. I can pass the Z-values through some compositor nodes to get it in the range that I want it to be and finally replace the normal-map’s alpha with it. Lastly, specular… Oh, dear…

Now, I’ve tried a quite a few different things to get the specular, for example: