Materials common library (again) - general thoughts

Hi all.

I am Simone, the man behind blender-materials.com.
I am a web developer and a blender passionate, so, some time ago, I decided to build this site.

I know this is an old topic, but I really think that for a large number of users a material library is a must.

I read old and current threads but in the end I think there’s only mess around: someone started in-app materials browsers, someone (me in example) built an online browsable archive, someone is gathering single materials for a single library blend file and so on.

Don’t you think it’s a pity wasting resources and time in this way?
Is there anyone who thinks we can work together for reaching something better and more valuable?
We are living on the shoulder of the open source system and there isn’t a common way to share materials and shaders.
blendswap.com did a grat job when talking about models but I think it isn’t the right platform to host shaders…

What do you think?
Please share your thoughts.

Bye
Simone

Don’t you think it’s a pity wasting resources and time in this way?
You obviously do as you stated this thread, therefore you are the best person to push this all through. I look forward to your final result.

Is there anyone who thinks we can work together for reaching something better and more valuable?
Ask people making those other addons/sites etc to see what they think since those are the ones actually able to do something about it

What do you think?
Please share your thoughts.

I’m sure everyone would like a fantastic singing and dancing library with materials for every occasion, is there any doubt about it ?

Someone said having a material library in blender is a no-sense (I didn’t got it…) so I’m testing users again.

If users do really want it, then we can start building togheter a nice and functional “official” service.