May I use Blender 2.5 now???

Hi I’m new in Blender. I find this software nice but since I’m a newbee here and find the 2.4x GUI akward for me, I have a simple question…May I use the last Blender 2.5 SVN r23512 instead the 2.49 version??? (fully functional) I don’t care about the new features in 2.5 but just how the stuff are setup (windows etc…) cuz I found more clear than the previous versions…I load a Big Buck Bunny scene in it and works…

Thanks.

Of course you may use it, you are a free man! :smiley:

Just remember that 2.5 is not yet even in beta. Some basic modelling tools have not yet been implemented and any tutorials you may use to help you learn blender will be much more difficult to follow.

Richard

Its nice to hear such great things about 2.5 from somebody new!

However, I’d stick with 2.4x for your “production enviornment”. 2.5 just isn’t ready yet. As stated above, there are still many features missing, and bugs present, which is to be expected at this point in its development. Furthermore, 2.5 will not match up with any 2.4x tutorials you find, and atm some of the keyboard shortcuts don’t match up with 2.4x or what they will be in the final release.

I personally use 2.49b for my “production enviornment” (though I haven’t managed to complete a project in a long time), and and compile a 2.5 build to play around with cool new features.

I’ve been constantly testing 2.5, awaiting what I consider “production readiness.” It’s not there yet. Stick with 2.49 for now.

I am trying to use 2.5 for production today, but it isn’t really usable yet. There are still a lot of features missing and/or they are buggy. I wouldn’t recommend learning 2.5 at the moment. Maybe in one month. Right now you would just stumble about bugs and you would be frustrated, because you would think the way the tools work sucks.