Measuring angles between bones in bge

Hi there!

I’m new to blender and to python, so please go easy on me!

I’ve built a human model, whose bones I move via mocap , and I want to get the angle values (X,Y, Z) between body limbs.
For example, I want the 3D orientation of the hand in reference to the forearm coordinate axis system.
I’ve searched for days and I have tried several methods, like “joint_rotation” and ‘‘rotation_difference’’, but I don’t get the desired result.

I think Blender gives me the angles in reference to the global axis, or other axis system.

How can I do this properly? It seemed to be simple and straightforward, but i’m finding a lot of difficulty here.

Thanks in advance,

Santi.

Any ideas about this? I can’t believe something so simple can give so much trouble…

Hmmmm, rotation is pretty much always tricky(at least for me : P), especially when computing them somehow.

If I recall correctly, the BGE uses quaternions to represent orientation, so you’ll have to get those(for the bones being measured between) and number crunch 'em a little to get your desired results.

I’ve done this before, but I won’t have access to that data for at least half a year(I’m away from home at the moment).

However, I’m not sure that’s really necessary - directly interacting with bones in the BGE is very expensive computationally, but since this is the BGE we have lots of options.

What do you intend to use this for? The more we know about your specific problem, the easier it is for us to help ; )

The BGE does not use quaternions when dealing with objects. But it can use them when dealing with rotation channels on armature bones.

I suggest to look at the armature channels

import bge

controller = bge.logic.getCurrentController()

armature = controller.owner

for channel in armature.channels:
    print("name:", channel.name)
    if channel.rotation_mode == bge.logic.ROT_MODE_QUAT:
        print("rotation mode: quaternion ")