Mech / Robot Animation - Pics and Video Links

Hi. I haven’t posted in a while. I have been working in Blender for a few years now but it is mostly for client presentations.

Lately I have been working on a Mech design. I am doing the modeling, rigging and animation. I’m going to make a small video from it. It’s just for fun. So I though I would share what I have so far with the community. I am almost done adding the armor plates to the lower torso and then I can move on to the upper torso. I plan on adding lots and lots of details. Attached are some screen shots.

I’m going to put links to some YouTube videos. I’ve never done this before so please let me know if they don’t work. The videos are showing different views of the animation in the Blender so you can see the walk cycle I have created.

Worm’s Eye View

Fly Around View

Bird’s Eye View

Thanks. Comments and feedback welcome and encouraged.

Attachments

This is very good!

I like how the joint spins when it walks. Nice touch.

WOW this is much better than my attempts at making a mech! Got any tips ;D

@Mazui - Thanks. I thought it would add a more mechanical effect showing some moving parts. I took the inspiration from the recent Transformer movies … lots of moving parts!

@FriskyLemons - I am getting to that age where I have lots of advice, but I’ll try to keep it short! :slight_smile:
Use lots and lots and lots of reference. After you find a lot of reference material, then see if you can’t find more. I always go back to my reference material as I work. Also, have a clear and focused goal. I want this 'Mech to be more like a “walking tank” than a fantasy, humanoid, fast-moving, jumping and flying around kind of robot (like you see in Anime/Gundam cartoons). So besides other Battlemechs or robots I’m also using tanks and armored transport reference images.