Medieval Door

Hello Everybody,

I am new to both the forum and blender, before this fantastic programme I used to sketch my simple houses with Google SketchUp and now I feel like the first time I came to know about the existence of 1:35 wwII models :slight_smile: A new world has just opened its doors.

Ok, this said, I will shortly introduce myself, I am an Italian boy, 19, starting my University undergraduate studies next October at Birkbeck College London, studying History.
For I am actually interested in the Middle Ages, I’ve started to model some medieval buildings, and more precisely, some parts of them. I’ve started with doors. So here my first attempt to make a vault door, I need loads of feedbacks from you guys, on how to better model stones, knockers, even nails and of course how to texture it (Whenever I try to texture my door through UV mapping somehow some parts of the door just go away becoming transparent, but I must assume I’ll come to terms with this matter later on).
So, thanks in advance for your kindness and help,

Keep up the good work,

Manorial

Attachments

Hi Manorial, welcome to BlenderArtists.com :slight_smile:

Great first model, really, not much to say about it. Maybe add a bevel on the stones to make the side round off a bit (worn out). I really like the way you went ahead and place them sort of randomly. Adds to realism. Maybe adding a few more lights to make your rendering pop out more. Right now, its very dark.

Keep up the good work, and happy Blending :wink:

JeannotLandry,

Thanks for your feedback :slight_smile: I will add a new light, and the bevel too. The actual aim is to make a sort of a medieval village, but I have time for that. for now I want to focus on modelling realistic shapes :slight_smile:

Added Bevel and another light (attempting to simulate spin torch lighting :smiley: :D)

Attachments