Medieval Market Scene

Hello Hello,

Here we go again with the middle ages mania. The aim is to create a Medieval scene, representing the most important place of a little town: the market.
I have started with this little “shop”, any suggestions, critics etc. about modelling and sculpting in particular? I have been using Blender for a couple of weeks so far and learnt the basics of bezier curves yesterday.

Thanks in advance for your kindness, fellow blenderers.

Manorial

Attachments

Hi Hotzst,

Thanks for your kind feedback. I have taken a look at your link and must say Im interested in it. How does the CC license thing work though? I’m quite new to these kind of things.

Coming to the market, well I didn’t really follow any historical base, just a few models on the internet… The ideal setting would be the XIV century in England, for I have read a very interesting book by Ian Mortimer named The Time Traveller’s Guide to XIV Century England. The goods sold would be then Apples, some kinds of vegetables and fruit. For now I just added UV spheres and painted them red, while for the vegetables I’ve used bezier curves then painted green.

The Booth was quite simple to do: For the wooden parts I’ve used the default cube scaled in various directions, extruded and linked to the other parts, becoming a simple mesh (thus easy to texture too). The sunshade or whatever you would call it - was basically made with a bezier curve, then extruded many times, in proximity of the axes to give a 3d effect. Then coloured with woven textures. It may be a little too coloured due to the many lamps I have added (Lighting, as well as modelling, still is something Im not good at).

I was thinking about adding a blacksmith and a bakery in the nearabouts, but first on I have to lear how to do so :slight_smile:

Hi Manorial