Medieval Scene

Hello, this is one of my biggest projects sofar, and I already learned a lot from it. I still want to add an allay next to the house and some statues and rubble. However I could use some serious comments, because i am a very beginner.

I’m using blender internal renderen.

Overall view: The axe is not enough visible (material acting weird, tangent shading however looks nice in closeup), lighting definitely needs improvement.
http://img415.imageshack.us/img415/3540/axetest4yo6.png

Close up lamp: the displacement of the wall on the left side is odd. Although i made a flame with particles, it simple ignores to be visible through the glass, and I don’t know how to solve it without breaking the glass :).
http://img72.imageshack.us/img72/5249/axelampcloseuprf2.png

Close up axe:
http://img62.imageshack.us/img62/4338/axecloseupam0.png

It’s a bit dark.

Yeah, dark. You’ve got a strong idea by putting the camera low and the lamps up high. And as you turn up the lights, you still want to keep that sense of drama. (You might think about using haze or depth-of-field to make sure that my eye doesn’t get distracted by the bog in the foreground.)

My eye is naturally going to study the lamps, and then zero in on the person or whatever-it-is who appears to be sitting in the door frame. Remember: that’s your subject. The whole picture needs to tell me the story of whatever-that-is. Is he in danger? Is he Harry Potter left on the door stoop, waiting until morning when the adventure begins? Etcetera.

Your composition already directs my eye properly. You can trace i t, following the light spots: foreground, window, window, lamp… subject. Rests on the subject and looks more closely. Good. Keep that.