Memory optimization and performance issues during Modeling

I register this topic here, because this optimization has only to do with modeling (not rendering or animating, etc)

My scene is growing larger and larger. I am rendering an interior space, now consisting of 60 objects with a total of 675K faces. Most faces are from complicated furniture objects. I started, getting lags in moving objects and paning views and sometimes I can hear my disk caching.

I separated the walls and space outlines from the furniture, into different layers - so I can set my camera views quickly paning with only the walls. Then I grouped the furniture by their locations in the layout so I can view them separately, by lots, according to scope of view.
These seem to have helped significantly, but since I am new to Blender I am not sure I am doing the right thing or the best I could, for this issue.

More specifically:

• I’ve been using layers not scenes, since I consider the whole thing a scene, since there is no time sequencing - just camera shots from several points. Am I right in this? are layers effective in managing memory usage? (they serve me well functionally)
  • I have repetitions of instances objects in the scene by using the array and/or mirror modifiers. This has obvious advantages when editing the parent object. It seems to me though, that the modifiers applied and the objects separated is somewhat lighter on the system resources. (with CAD it would be the other way around: CAD blocks and repetitions in instances are effective) What about Blender, are modifiers that repeat objects more “heavy” than separate duplicated objects?
  • Turning off visibility (either by object or by layer) in Blender certainly seems to lighten the load (I say this because say AutoCAD you would freeze or partial load for significant advantages) In Blender, is visibility the best way to focus memory usage and lighten the load?