Mercury glass texture

I’m fairly new to blender, and have been trying to figure out nodes lately. Most of it has been smooth sailing, but something recently has me stumped. I want to render mercury glass like the image below; it is basically just mirrored (or in many cases clear) glass with a glossy paint splatter in it. What I’ve been trying to do is make a black and transparent .png pattern in photoshop, unwrap the UV over that, and then fiddle with nodes until something happens. I would be more specific but I know it’s wrong and probably embarrassing.

Long story short, how do I make a texture where some parts of the surface are clear or mirrored, and other parts are glossy and colored? I really appreciate any help or tips.

Use a black and white texture to control the fac slot of a mix shader (with glossy/diffuse shaders)

To get the effect above you could use a couple of the inbuilt procedural textures passed through a colour ramp or math node. I’d post a node setup - but I don’t have access to my computer that has blender on it.

Pardon the low quality, my work computer is like five years old and slow as hell so I didn’t want to wait ten minutes to render a test. Your advice definitely helped but I still can’t get the gold bit to look gold and the glass bit to look glass.

Couple of hints:

Instead of the add node - change to a mix node and make it mostly glossy.

Plug a second glass node into the empty slot of the mix node you already have. Currently its empty which will render as black.

I’d also run the texture through a colour ramp or a math node to make the texture sharper at the boundaries.

Couple of hints:

Instead of the add node - change to a mix node and make it mostly glossy.

Plug a second glass node into the empty slot of the mix node you already have. Currently its empty which will render as black.

I’d also run the texture through a colour ramp or a math node to make the texture sharper at the boundaries.