Mesh critique / advice would be appreciated.

Hi,

3D beginner here and in the beginning stages of what will be my first major project (just been doing the weekend challenges to date) and would appreciate any feed back on my first two pieces so far.

It seems to me there is too many polys in it for what they are, but I don’t see much alternatives other than n-gons. Also curious if maybe I should have modeled the ears (or pin bearing sockets) separately from the main bar.

I really want to learn things right so any suggestions, advise or words of wisdom would be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

Looks good if you are not going to be using Subdivision surface at all. If you are I see some problems and there are probably too many faces.

Sometimes I model parts by adding new primitives and intersecting my original mesh, instead of just extruding everything from the same mesh. If I plan on using subsurface modifiers, I add them in and use loop cuts to preserve the edges I need, as well as bevel geo where I need the edges to be rigid.

Nothing much to critique except that you might want loops helping bevel edges and circles look like having too much geometry.

Thanks for the input DruBan.

I was planning on using SubSurf to smooth out the rounded areas. Just using smooth shading kind of turns it to mush but a level 2 Subsurf looks ok on it. What problems do you see with using SubSurf on it. I used all quads (as I understand is the preferred way to do SubSurf) and put some control loops on the corners to keep them from getting to deformed.

Thanks again for taking the time to share your knowledge.

Craig Jones,

If I understand you correctly I would build the main beam, then model the ears (for lack of technical knowledge i call them ears) as separate objects and then position them and use CTRL-J to join. I could see how that would make things simpler.