Metaball Models - help needed

Is it possible to rig with armatures, models created with metaballs and make their limbs move ? If so how ? Please help me…

Does not seem to be possible. But I am no expert

Not metaballs in their original state, but you could convert them to meshes (Object mode, Alt-C) and animate. You lose all the meta-licious properties.

Not metaballs in their original state, but you could convert them to meshes (Object mode, Alt-C) and animate. You lose all the meta-licious properties

Can u be more explicit ? I tried what u suggested… once I try to covert it gives 2 options : convert and delete original / convert and keep original. Tried both !!But once the armatures are added, rigging is not takin place and I am not able to animate the parts :frowning:

Add/delete original lets you choose whether to delete the original meta-object or not. For now just delete the original for simplicity.

I’m not sure what you mean by “adding” armatures. You not only have to build the armature, you have to add it as a modifier to the mesh. Depending on how you set up the modifier, there’s any number of reasons why the armature is not affecting it (envelopes, vertex groups, etc). What method are you using?

I learned a lot from the advanced animation tutorials for 2.40 in the wiki:

http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Blender_3D:_Noob_to_Pro/Advanced_Tutorials/Advanced_Animation/Guided_tour/Mesh/Amodif

another good tute on rigging and skinning
http://mediawiki.blender.org/index.php/Flying_Bird_-Building_the_Rig
http://mediawiki.blender.org/index.php/Flying_Bird
-_Skinning

Hello tupulur:The good news: it is possible indeed, to rig object made with many metaballs.

1 - Add -> metaball then tab-key to exit edit mode
2 - Add a second metaball and tab-key
3 - Move the second metaball a little so that the centers are distant, but keeping the contact.
4 - Add armature : with 2 bones. enter pose mode.