Metal on Mac: where does development of Blender for the Mac go from here?

Greetings,

I’m going to post a few links first as I am NOT a programmer, I’m a graphic & multimedia designer and want to ask if anyone has any insight as to how this will affect the continued use/proliferation of Blender on the Mac platform?

Among the main questions I have are the following:

• Since Metal is part of OS X El Capitan, does this mean that–in order to possibly take advantage of this technology–a version of Blender would have to be built ONLY for OS X 10.11 (which, in turn would mean that only users with the megabucks to buy a new mac would be able to run it)?
  • Given that an open letter was written to Apple by the LuxRender and endorsed by Ton ( http://www.blendernation.com/2015/05/04/an-open-letter-to-tim-cook/ ) was published regarding Apple’s graphics drivers, what could we blenderheads on macs expect in terms of new versions of Blender being released in the future at this juncture? Or is it too early to say?
  • Blender is one of the first five open-source software packages I install on any and every computer I buy. Should I even look at a Mac in, say, two or three years from now or purchase an Asus and install Fedora/Mint/[insert Linux distro here] because Blender won’t be available for OS X?
  • Basically, is Metal a step forward or backward for Blender development?

Thank you for listening. I hope, if nothing else, this post gets the conversation started.

I wouldn’t worry about metal. It’s the way Apple does business. All the systems are having it only with Apple it’s a “thing” and of course only with apple it’s 10 times faster… If you don’t want to be left behind. Don’t buy a mac.

Correct, only macs running 10.11 will be able to run programs built on ‘Metal’…

Well, there already is trouble with the mac side of blender – from may 3rd –