Mixamo Import FBX Black Facial Features FIXED

Mixamo FBX in Blender BEGINNER-EASY FIX: Black Area Around Facial Features = GONE!
I haven’t found this solved anywhere, so I’m posting the answer. Most replies say: prolly the UV, add a light. Not helpful–especially to us newbies to 3D. It’s just that their opacity is set to 100% without alpha (by default). So to honor the png transparency, you change that setting.

2 min video on YouTube or written steps below: YouTube videos for Blender or Photoshop fixes

Note: I am not a developer, I’m a teacher trying to help students get going in 3d…I’m not well versed with lingo and protocols. I offer my solution in laymen’s terms. Please, experts, feel free to expand or explain or correct me on why this works. I’d LOVE an expert to say, “if you did ___ during import, these would already have alpha enabled” or something even simpler than adding alpha to each Mat property!! I just want newbies to get to start somewhere, especially if they don’t have the means to take official courses etc just yet.

Problem:
For some reason the fbx Mixamo models are imported with 100% opaque faces (except the body was fine in my case…it was just the facial animation map pieces). This isn’t complicated. No amount of “lighting” or “UV” helps if they’re not using the alpha supplied in the png!
Solution:

1. Select Material that’s black (layers panel yellow triangles -> red spheres icons)
  2. go to Material Properties (below layers->click sphere icon)
  3. scroll to settings, change blend mode to alpha clip.
    The end :slight_smile:

Very Detailed Solution:

1. In the 3D viewport, in Object Mode, in Orthographic (idk if this matters), click far right top icon to show colored model so you can see the black parts. Then, open the armature layers panel and the properties panel (if it doesn’t auto-show below layers).