Mixing materials using color ramps (and distributing with a random seed)

I’m creating some procedural abstract art in Blender. My goal is to create a material that mixes multiple shaders, with a seed driving the distribution of the mixed shaders across my geometry.

Right now I think I’ve got it working, but since I’m pretty new to materials in Blender it would be great if someone could take a look at what I’ve done to make sure I’m getting it right :slight_smile: I want to make sure that:

• I’m using the color ramps correctly to cleanly divide up my mixed shaders (I don’t want any shaders to blend together and affect each other, if that makes sense?)
  • My distribution of shaders is random, but even.
  • Even if what I’m doing is correct, there’s not a more efficient/better way of doing what I’m trying to accomplish.

Here is my material setup: enter image description here

Here is the result on my geometry (I’m using ugly colors for now, just so we can see what we’re doing): enter image description here

And here is the random seed in action, affecting the distribution of the mixed shaders. enter image description here

If what I’ve done so far shows a misunderstanding of how any of these material nodes should be used, an explanation would be greatly appreciated – as a heads up, it’s entirely possible that I stumbled upon my current solution by accident! Thanks in advance.

1 Like

Nice solution! For me the take-away is that you can have additional “seeding” to the Random object info node’s output.

I have my doubts as to application though as my feeling is that this particular procedural generation will be difficult to generalize for more than 4 materials. When you get to that amount, particle instancing or geometry node instancing of a collection of linked objects with separate materials start to make more sense.