Model to Scale

So I am new to Blender, I am using 2.8 and I have a question about modeling to exacting scale. I create items for scale models that I then 3D print, so getting the size accurate is an understatement. I am getting up to speed with the Scene panel and I am wondering if I am on the right track?

So say I am modeling an object that will be for a part that is going on a 1/32 scale model. I already know that this scales to 0.794mm. So am I correct in assuming if I set the unit system to Metric, the Length to Millimeters and then set the unit scale to 0.794 I will be modeling my Blender project to the correct scale for sending to the 3D printer?

Hope that was a clear enough question? Any advice or help would be highly appreciated!

It’s more complicated than that, but also simpler. The word “scale” repeats itself 3 times, and all are relevant to what you’re doing

• working scale, the unit you use and the model dimensions, in the viewport
  • object scale, a multiplier. If it’s anything other than (x,y,z) 1,1,1 when modeling and exporting, you’re looking at a model that has its mesh in different dimensions than what you see in the viewport. Not good, so whenever you scale an object or change its dimensions, apply its scale
  • unit scale, also a multiplier. Can be applied to the model when exporting

Thing is, the unit doesn’t export, and you can decide the working scale until such time you want the model in correct dimensions. You could use the default unit, decide it’s millimeters, model, apply object scale, export, and tell the importing application it’s millimeters.

Or, if you use the dimensions of the full size object, decide a suitable unit. Then scale down the model 32x smaller, apply object scale, export.

1 Like