Modeling a 12-strand double-weave rope?

Hi! This is my first post on the forums, so if this is in the wrong section please feel free to move it to the right place.

I’m a beginner in Blender, coming over from years in 3DS Max. I’ve got the hang of a lot of the modeling techniques in Blender so far and can now model pretty much anything I could do in max. But this problem has my brain going sideways and around itself. I’ve been trying for 2 days now and still can’t get anything close. Maybe I’m just not smart enough.

As the title says, I’m trying to model a 12-strand double-weave rope. Sort of a tubular braid. And I need to do this accurately.

I’ve been trying to get a rope model going in several ways, using different kinds of curves, from bezier, through completely handcrafted and spiral variants. I’ve also been looking at tutorials for making braids, but they end up with single-weave stuff which is neat too but for my purpose doesn’t work afaik. I just haven’t been able to figure out how to set up the curve to work for this. So I would love some help from others to solve this problem.

Also, there are some requirements that the model needs to fulfill.

1. Strands need to be able to be array controlled, at least it is preferred. This way I can make changes to the rope strands quickly, as I will need to make different dimensions later on.
  2. Needs to be in 2 grouped “pieces”, for example I need to make the rope follow a line and be able to make openings in the “middle”. So 6 and 6 strains need to be controlled together. This is because I need to be able to accurately model splices for this type of rope. As long as I can get the complete rope modeled it shouldn’t be an issue to separate the correct strands though.

To illustrate example what I need, here are a couple of images:

As can be seen in the images, each strand criss-crosses and also passes below/above 2 other strands at a time.